Air Compressor Buyers Guide – Best Air Compressors of 2021

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Our Top 5 best air compressors quick summary:

  1. Draper 31254 100 Litre Belt-Driven Air Compressor
  2. Hyundai HY30100V
  3. Einhell Air Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8
  4. Stanley 6 Litre Air Compressor
  5. Orazio 45 Litre Air Compressor

Read on below to find out more about each one and air compressors in general!

What do you need to know about Air Compressors?

Whilst how a compressor works stay the same, the best models change constantly with manufacturers bringing you enhancements and better models. We have updated this article for 2021 to keep up to date with the very best the industry has to offer.

In writing this article we wanted to achieve two goals. Firstly, to help someone who is looking to purchase an air compressor by identifying some of the best models available. Secondly, to arm you with all the information you could possibly need to make that decision.

We don’t like being told what is best for us, how does someone else know us or our needs well enough to make that decision? With this air compressor buyers guide we will hopefully answer all of your questions regarding air compressors so that you can make that decision for yourself.

Best of the rest
Draper 31254 Belt-Driven Air Compressor, 100L, 230V 2.2KW, 3HP
Best Pick
Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
Best of the rest
Einhell 4007325 Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8 (Maximum 8 bar, 24 Litre Tank, Oil Lubrication, Pressure Reducer, Pressure Gauge + Quick-Release Coupling, Non-Return/Safety Valve, Rubber Foot)
Best Budget
Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor
Best of the rest
ORAZIO 241184 Low Noise Silent Air Compressor - 24 Liters
Name
Draper 31254 Belt-Driven Air Compressor, 100L, 230V 2.2KW, 3HP
Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
Einhell 4007325 Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8 (Maximum 8 bar, 24 Litre Tank, Oil Lubrication, Pressure Reducer, Pressure Gauge + Quick-Release Coupling, Non-Return/Safety Valve, Rubber Foot)
Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor
ORAZIO 241184 Low Noise Silent Air Compressor - 24 Liters
Air Displacement
8.1 CFM
14 CFM
9.6 CFM
6.33 CFM
4.77 CFM
Tank Size
100 Litres
100 Litre
24 Litre
6 Litre
24 Litre
Pressure
116 PSI / 8 Bar
116 PSI / 8 Bar
120 PSI / 8 Bar
116 PSI / 8 Bar
116 PSI / 8 Bar
Power
3 HP
3 HP
2.5 HP
1.5 HP
2.5 HP
Rating
Price
£333.00
Price not available
£162.99
£96.26
£149.99
Best of the rest
Draper 31254 Belt-Driven Air Compressor, 100L, 230V 2.2KW, 3HP
Name
Draper 31254 Belt-Driven Air Compressor, 100L, 230V 2.2KW, 3HP
Air Displacement
8.1 CFM
Tank Size
100 Litres
Pressure
116 PSI / 8 Bar
Power
3 HP
Rating
Price
£333.00
Best Pick
Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
Name
Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
Air Displacement
14 CFM
Tank Size
100 Litre
Pressure
116 PSI / 8 Bar
Power
3 HP
Rating
Price
Price not available
Best of the rest
Einhell 4007325 Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8 (Maximum 8 bar, 24 Litre Tank, Oil Lubrication, Pressure Reducer, Pressure Gauge + Quick-Release Coupling, Non-Return/Safety Valve, Rubber Foot)
Name
Einhell 4007325 Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8 (Maximum 8 bar, 24 Litre Tank, Oil Lubrication, Pressure Reducer, Pressure Gauge + Quick-Release Coupling, Non-Return/Safety Valve, Rubber Foot)
Air Displacement
9.6 CFM
Tank Size
24 Litre
Pressure
120 PSI / 8 Bar
Power
2.5 HP
Rating
Price
£162.99
Best Budget
Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor
Name
Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor
Air Displacement
6.33 CFM
Tank Size
6 Litre
Pressure
116 PSI / 8 Bar
Power
1.5 HP
Rating
Price
£96.26
Best of the rest
ORAZIO 241184 Low Noise Silent Air Compressor - 24 Liters
Name
ORAZIO 241184 Low Noise Silent Air Compressor - 24 Liters
Air Displacement
4.77 CFM
Tank Size
24 Litre
Pressure
116 PSI / 8 Bar
Power
2.5 HP
Rating
Price
£149.99

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Only got 5 minutes to spare?

We appreciate time is valuable and important and you may not have the time nor inclination to read the whole of this buyers guide. If you only have 5 minutes this section will hit the high points of what you need to know, couple this with our comparison table below and you should have just enough of the basics to help you make a buying decision.

Full size vs portable air compressor

Depending on what you decide to use your air compressor for will determine which way you decide to proceed. A portable air compressor is great for inflating tyres, footballs, air beds, etc.

They come in a variety of 12v power and battery-powered models and some include digital gauges showing current pressure and allowing you to set the desired PSI to inflate to.

Full-size air compressors allow you to perform tasks such as running air power tools, paint spraying and cleaning. There are several key considerations when choosing your full-size air compressor which are listed below.

Key considerations for an air compressor

  • Are you planning on using it for spray painting? If so you will need to look for something that supports a low amount of pressure and a high flow rate, usually measured in CFM.
  • Do you plan on keeping the compressor in one place such as a garage, or are you planning on moving it around your home?
  • What is your budget? Depending on what you plan on using the air compressor for will dictate which compressor is for your budget.

If any of the points above trigger a consideration that you hadn’t initially thought about, I would suggest you find the relevant section in this buyers guide to find out a little more before investing in an air compressor.

Our Best Pick

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our Best Budget

Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our Best Pick Air Compressor – Hyundai HY30100V

Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
25 Reviews
Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
  • 🔵Powerful Motor : Powered by the Hyundai 2.2kw 3hp 230v motor
  • 🔵Safety Features : Automatic cut out switch, safety valve and pressure regulator/Adjuster
  • 🔵396L Per Minute: Air displacement of 14cfm/396 L per minute and a maximum pressure of 8 bar/11psi
  • 🔵DIY and Trade: Ideal for workshop or garage use.
  • 🔵Portable : Built in handle with 2 large wheels and 2 robust rubber feet

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

As you read on you will see what we have used to decide which models should feature in our best pick and best budget models. But we set a clear brief that the models must adhere to in order to feature.

This Hyundai air compressor made the cut as we felt it ticked the most boxes. For the average user at home, the requirements include the ability to run power tools, spray paint and inflate tyres.

This air compressor from Hyundai allows you to all of these things to a high standard. It is fairly heavy at 60Kg but as far as home user air compressors go this is well worth the investment. We have reviewed this compressor more in-depth further down the article.

Why Trust Us?

The internet is full of review sites that claim they have bought and rigorously tested every product so they can give you the best buying advice. Tripadvisor has some fake reviews, so who can you trust?

At ToolsReview, we pick individual products, ranges or whole categories of tools and spend hours pouring over technical information, manuals and forums to find out everything you could possibly want or need to know about the products.

We bundle all that information into a buyers guide so you can make an informed decision based on your needs without doing the legwork.

We pride ourselves on being independent and objective – if we don’t like a product we’ll tell it as it is.

Things you need to know about an air compressor

When choosing an air compressor there are two main considerations in my eyes, is it for domestic or commercial use.

If you are looking for something for commercial use, you may consider something that costs several thousand pounds, weighs a few hundred kilograms and takes up a lot of room. This will be the bread and butter of your business if you are spraying cars or replacing tyres for a living. This article isn’t based around that sort of niche.

This article is looking more at the domestic air compressor market, what is the best air compressor for the home garage?

So, first, we need to look at what a compressor is made up of and how it works, this will then give us a list of what are important factors when choosing the best air compressor for our needs.

How an air compressor works

When looking at how an air compressor works, it is quite a technical in-depth topic, there is a video we came across on YouTube below that looks into it in depth. But for the purposes of this article, we want to take a high-level overview and try to explain the basics.

Air Compressor Components

On top of the main body or cylinder, there is an air inlet valve. Inside the cylinder is a piston, the air inlet valve is initially open so that as the piston goes down air can fill the cylinder. As the piston reaches the bottom of the cylinder, the air inlet valve shuts and the air outlet valve opens.  

The piston then pushes the air out of the cylinder up and out of the air outlet valve into the air storage tank. The air outlet valve shuts as the piston reaches the top again, in turn, the air inlet valve opens and the process starts again.

As the storage tank starts to fill up with compressed air a sensor in the tank monitors it so that it knows when it is at capacity or at the maximum amount of bar or PSI of pressure for the compressor.

Once that happens the electric motor driving the piston up and down switches off. As air is used from the compressor by power tools, etc the motor will start up again to keep the storage tank full and under pressure.

There is an oil pan that the crankshaft (attached to the piston) sits in, keeping all of the moving parts lubricated and cooling the moving parts. Compressing air generates a lot of heat and so it is important to keep the oil levels correct.

There is also a filter that removes moisture from the air, as moisture build-up inside the compressor would start to rot the compressor and cause rust, equally you wouldn’t want moisture transferring to something you were spray painting or to your tools.

I appreciate that there is a lot to digest and when performing research for this article I had to read various sources and it still took me a while to get my head around it.

The video below also helps in explaining it and hopefully, the image above will allow you to see the various components I was talking about.

Uses of an air compressor

Paint Spraying

When it comes to spray painting with an air compressor you are after two things, high volume and low pressure. Whilst some compressors are capable of kicking out upwards of 140psi, you are only looking for up to around 70 PSI for spray painting, what you need though is volume!

Each spray gun requires a different specification air compressor so it is worth checking if you already have a spray gun or you are intending to purchase a spray gun and air compressor.

An average would require around 12 CFM to run. You want to be looking at a compressor that provides more than this so that it isn’t constantly struggling. Our best pick the Hyundai, for example, has 14 CFM, this would suffice for a paint sprayer such as this Clarke Spray Gun.

The domestic industry for paint spraying has opened up in recent years and you not only have the option of traditional paint sprayers that are run through a separate compressor but also HVLP mains electric powered spray guns.

These allow a constant amount of pressure and reduce risks such as water and oil getting into the paint sprayer. The Meterk paint sprayer below is a perfect example of this.

Paint Sprayer,Meterk Electric Spray Gun 400W Advanced Handheld Paint Gun with 3 Spray Patterns and 800ml/min Paint Sprayer 800ml Detachable Container Adjustable Valve Knob and Replaceable Air Filter
618 Reviews
Paint Sprayer,Meterk Electric Spray Gun 400W Advanced Handheld Paint Gun with 3 Spray Patterns and 800ml/min Paint Sprayer 800ml Detachable Container Adjustable Valve Knob and Replaceable Air Filter
  • ▲WITH 3 SPRAY PATTEMS & 3 NOZZLE SIZES: can be adjusted to 3 different spraying patterns(horizontal, vertical and circular) with 3 nozzle sizes(Φ1.3/1.8/2.6mm), you can choose the desire one for your different work needs.
  • ▲ADJUSTABLE VALVE KNOB & REPLACEABLE AIR FILTER: with adjustable valve knob to adjust the flow rate for coating speed and project size for precise paint application, and it sprays coatings evenly without brush marks with 2.0m power line for changeable distance working.
  • ▲PORTABLE AND WIDE: handheld electric spray gun is perfect for home & work use, suitable for car parts, home appliance parts, furniture, wooden products and so on, it's an perfect tool for your work and daily life.
  • ▲EASY CLEANING & DETACHABLE DESIGN: all parts of the machine are detachable, so you can clean it conveniently. With a viscosity cup to measure the viscosity of the paint. Convenient for cleaning and washing the nozzle.
  • ▲HIGH VOLUME LOW PRESSURE & HIGH CAPACITY & EASY FILLING: HVLP for excellent spraying efficiency and non-pollution. You can open the container cover to add the paint without taking down the 800ml container. It's easy to add paint and easy to control the smoothness of the paint.

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Power Tools

The majority of our website looks at power tools, battery-powered, mains powered but very few air-powered tools. This is something we may look to review more of in the future, but they aren’t as widely purchased, certainly in the domestic market as mains and battery-powered tools.

Most people don’t have a compressor kicking about in their kitchen when they need to do a spot of DIY and they aren’t exactly what you would call portable. So are they any use and why do they exist?

Well, air-powered power tools are phenomenal pieces of kit for a few reasons;

  • No motors, so less maintenance and risk of failure is reduced.
  • Unlike battery-powered tools, the power source is constant and doesn’t run out.
  • They are much more powerful.
  • They are also usually cheaper to purchase due to no motors.

If however, you have a compressor for other tasks, then considering some air fed power tools really isn’t a bad idea at all. You can buy a kit like the one below that has a basic selection of power tools to get you started. Featuring an air impact driver, air chisel, an air drill and an air ratchet screwdriver.

When you consider that price of the kit, one of these tools alone that is a decent make and battery-powered would cost that!

Sale
Stanley 8221074STN Air Tool kit
184 Reviews
Stanley 8221074STN Air Tool kit
  • The perfect little helper, for home and workshop, complete in case.
  • This tool set consists of: Stanley impact screwdriver, Stanley Ratchet screwdriver, Stanley compressed air Drill with keyless Chuck, Stanley Chisel hammer.

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

What to look for in a home garage compressor

As I said earlier, whilst commercial and larger compressors are great, they aren’t really the focus of this article. So what things do we need to consider when purchasing a compressor for use at home?

Primarily noise, weight and size. You don’t want something that is going to annoy the neighbours, or that makes enough noise that it could be damaging to its user.

We would always recommend wearing ear defenders when operating a compressor anyway as even the small units can generate quite a bit of noise.

Noise

When looking to choose a compressor it is worth looking at the DBA rating that it comes with, this will show you roughly how loud it will be. But how are you supposed to know how loud 80 DBA is for example?

Decibel meter app

We have had the issue of when reading tool specifications and trying to imagine how loud something is based on a DBA rating for a while now, so we looked further. You can read more about this in-depth HERE but in essence, there is an app you can download for your iPhone which you can see a link to below.

If you then use something in and around your house such as a hairdryer, you can put the app on and see how loud it is in DBA. You could also use the volume control on your TV to get you to the required sound level, we think it’s pretty simple and kind of cool.

Weight

Weight is also a big consideration if you are looking for an air compressor to use around the house. If this is something that you are going to set up in your garage and run from that location, I wouldn’t get too hung up on the weight of your air compressor.

But if it is something that you think will be used around the house then the weight is a huge consideration.

From paint spraying walls when decorating to using your new air power tools, if you are planning to use them around your house the weight of your air compressor is a consideration.

In the best of the rest section below, we look at some of the smaller air compressors on offer which whilst might not have the airflow for paint spraying, can certainly copy with airpower tools for use around your home.

Size

Similar to the weight of the compressor, size comes into play when you are considering where it will be primarily stored. If you have plenty of room in a garage or shed to store it and operate it from, then the size of your air compressor doesn’t really matter all that much.

If however this is something that you are going to move around or is going to be stored under the stairs then you will need to factor in the size of the unit.

What to look for in portable air compressors

When I say portable air compressors, I’m talking about the sort of thing that allows you to pump your car tyres up on the move. In the past few months, I have bought one of these pieces of kit and also a portable jump pack, for jump-starting a flat battery.

In the past devices like this whilst available, used the old style of batteries that couldn’t hold a charge over time, battery quality degraded quickly and didn’t provide a constant supply of power. With the advent of Lithium-ION batteries, these tools are amazing and well worth the investment.

There are also models that run off the 12v power supply in your car, whilst these are still a great option and you aren’t relying on battery power and the batteries being charged.

Top Tip: It is important to have your engine running to avoid flattening your car battery. The issue with this is the risk of your vehicle being stolen while you are crouched down around the other side of it.

Some of the models in the table below have battery power and some 12v supply, some also feature a digital gauge where you can preset the amount of pressure you want to put in the tyres, this is a big advantage.

When it comes to choosing our best pick, best budget and best of the rest products for each review, we like to set some clear criteria. When it comes to the Air Compressor buyers guide we wanted the following from our selection;

  • At least 1.5hp
  • With the exception of small compressors a minimum 50L tank
  • Capable of running on single phase 240v power

We also look at several other factors with our buyer’s guides, these are things that we feel are important across the board to our buyers. These include;

  • At least 4 out of 5 stars when it comes to reviews
  • 1 Year warranty or above

What we also try to highlight as we look at each of the products we have identified as part of our air compressor buyers guide are what the compressor would be useful for.

We look at air compressors with large tanks, high flow rates, smaller units and portable air compressors. With each we try to identify the best use case for each, if your aim is to be able to do paint spraying there is no point in looking at something that has a flow rate of 5cfm.

Additional considerations with an air compressor

One thing that we feel is important to note with air compressors is power and heat.

Air compressors generate a lot of heat within the motor area and it is important to do several things;

  • Keep them away from being in a tightly enclosed space
  • Keep flammable materials away from them
  • Ensure that oil levels and moisture levels are regularly checked

The other thing that is important when it comes to air compressors is their power requirements. Whilst all of the compressors featured in this power guide are designed to run off single phase 240v power, with a 13amp plug, you need to be careful how they achieve this.

Extension leads are a no go and if additional electric sockets have been added to your home or garage it is important to ensure they comply with regulations. If not you could find you start popping circuit breakers due to the power requirements of an air compressor.

Our best pick air compressor, in more detail

Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
25 Reviews
Hyundai HY30100V 3hp V-Twin Direct Drive Electric Compressor 14cfm, 100 Litre Steel Tank, Blue, Includes 5 Piece Air Tool Kit, 550 W, 230 V
  • 🔵Powerful Motor : Powered by the Hyundai 2.2kw 3hp 230v motor
  • 🔵Safety Features : Automatic cut out switch, safety valve and pressure regulator/Adjuster
  • 🔵396L Per Minute: Air displacement of 14cfm/396 L per minute and a maximum pressure of 8 bar/11psi
  • 🔵DIY and Trade: Ideal for workshop or garage use.
  • 🔵Portable : Built in handle with 2 large wheels and 2 robust rubber feet

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our best pick air compressor goes to the Hyundai HY30100V air compressor. This compressor, being from one of the best-known names in the industry, features 14CFM airflow, 114 PSI of pressure, a 100-litre tank and a 3HP motor.

Weighing in at just short of 60Kg it is worth noting that this air compressor that is better suited to a fixed location in your garage or workshop. This impressive model would be perfectly adequate for running paint sprayers, airpower tools and many more tools and accessories.

This is a great all-round air compressor that should be considered as long as you can accommodate its size and weight.

Best Budget Air Compressor

Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor
2,369 Reviews
Stanley DN200/8/6 Compressor
  • Air Compressor
  • 6 L tank
  • Power 1,5 HP / 1100 W
  • Max pressure - 8 bar / 116
  • Lightweight and easy to carry

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

When it comes to our budget air compressor choice, we decided on something that would get basic tasks completed. It can happily inflate tyres, clean with air and run a basic range of air-powered tools. This compressor wouldn’t be any use for paint spraying due to its lower flow rate.

This Stanley air compressor is however very lightweight and ideal for someone who wants something that can be easily carried around the house and beyond. It is even small and light enough to put in the boot of your car to take with you to a friends house, should you require.

If you are paint spraying or planning on regularly doing lots of work with air power tools, this might not be the compressor for you, but for occasional use, it is so convenient and lightweight that we think it is one not to be missed.

The best of the rest

Sale
Draper 31254 Belt-Driven Air Compressor, 100L, 230V 2.2KW, 3HP
3 Reviews
Draper 31254 Belt-Driven Air Compressor, 100L, 230V 2.2KW, 3HP
  • 2.2kW (3HP) motor
  • Belt-driven
  • Suitable for workshop use
  • Input Current: 13A
  • Speed 950r/min

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Draper 100L air compressor is one that we wanted to mention. Whilst this model didn’t get our best pick it is the highest specification of air compressor that we mention in this buyers guide.

It has a 100-litre tank, can shift 8.1 CFM of air and has a 3HP motor on tap. It is very well specified and is significantly lighter than some of the competition at just under 2Kg.

This unit will cope with paint spraying, powering air power tools and much more. It didn’t quite get the best pick due to the fact that the Draper name means so much! It has a reputation built up that gives people the confidence to know what to expect.

Einhell 4007325 Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8 (Maximum 8 bar, 24 Litre Tank, Oil Lubrication, Pressure Reducer, Pressure Gauge + Quick-Release Coupling, Non-Return/Safety Valve, Rubber Foot)
72 Reviews
Einhell 4007325 Compressor TC-AC 190/24/8 (Maximum 8 bar, 24 Litre Tank, Oil Lubrication, Pressure Reducer, Pressure Gauge + Quick-Release Coupling, Non-Return/Safety Valve, Rubber Foot)
  • The TC-AC 190/24/8 is a versatile compressor which with its compact dimensions and maximum continuous power of 1,100 W delivers up to 8 bar operating pressure and therefore provides good service on numerous compressed air jobs.
  • The controlled working pressure setting can be adjusted by the pressure reducer and is displayed on the pressure gauge. The quick-release coupling enables diverse air tools to be quickly & easily attached without the need for any additional tools
  • In operation the 24 Litre tank provides enough reserves for prolonged jobs. The oil lubrication of the pump ensures that the compressor has a long service life
  • For the best possible user safety there is a non-return valve and a safety valve. A drain plug is provided for the comfortable and clean removal of condensate from the tank
  • A vibration-absorbing foot prevents mechanical shocks and reduces noise generation. For quick mobility and easy transportation there is a carrying handle and two rubberized wheels

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Einhell is a great little air compressor. Whilst it doesn’t have the flow rate or pressure of some of the bigger units such as the Draper. This unit is great if you are looking for something more portable and that takes up less room in your home.

The air storage tank on the Einhell is 24 litres, which is plenty big enough to power the twin air outlets that it features. This is more useful for having two airlines hooked up at once with two different power tools attached. Whilst they can be used simultaneously, due to the power of the unit I would suggest using for convenience.

ORAZIO 241184 Low Noise Silent Air Compressor - 24 Liters
161 Reviews
ORAZIO 241184 Low Noise Silent Air Compressor - 24 Liters
  • Power supply: 220V 50Hz 750W, 1400rpm
  • Working Pressure: 8 Bar
  • Dimensions: 600×230×530 mm
  • Start instantaneous power: 1650W
  • Net weight: 22 kgs

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Orazio 241184 whilst not being the most powerful air compressor on our list is still a great addition depending on your needs. If you are looking for a unit that is fairly mobile, can be used around the home for cleaning, inflating tyres, etc.

The power of this unit isn’t suitable for running most air power tools and it certainly isn’t powerful enough for paint spraying. It does, however, run at 65 decibels, which for an air compressor is very quiet indeed!

Portable Air Compressors

VonHaus 12v Electric Digital Tyre Inflator – Portable Air Compressor - For Bike, Car, Boat, Motorcycle, Ball - 125 PSI With LCD Display, Emergency Light, Schrader Valve, Narrow Pin Attachments
1,076 Reviews
VonHaus 12v Electric Digital Tyre Inflator – Portable Air Compressor - For Bike, Car, Boat, Motorcycle, Ball - 125 PSI With LCD Display, Emergency Light, Schrader Valve, Narrow Pin Attachments
  • Cordless and portable, experience the benefit of compressed air whenever and wherever you need it – top-up car, bike, boat and scooter tyres, as well as toys
  • Powered by a rechargeable 12V 1500mAh Lithium Ion battery that easily snaps on and off. Comes with a car adapter to use in the car when your inflator battery is running low.
  • LCD digital pressure gauge display with pre-set and auto-stop features allows you to set your desired pressure and will automatically stop when that pressure has been reached
  • Built in LED light is great for illuminating your workspace at night – can also flash a red signal as a hazard warning to other drivers for enhanced safety
  • Manufacturer 2 Year Warranty Included

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The VonHaus is one of the most popular models of portable air compressors available. It makes use of a Lithium-ION battery, meaning that it shouldn’t lose charge in between being used. It will fit most if not all different valve types, allowing you to inflate anything from a tyre to an air bed.

The VonHaus like some of the other portable air compressors features a digital gauge. As you attach it to a tyre it will give you a readout of the current pressure, you can then set your desired pressure and turn it on.

It can sit there with hands -free operation inflating your tyre. It does suggest that before and after using the VonHaus you use a separate gauge to ensure the accuracy of the amount of air in the tyre.

One thing I would point out with this and some of the other portable air compressors is they take time to inflate, bearing in mind they are battery powered and don’t have an air storage tank, I think they can be forgiven! The convenience they bring outweighs the wait time in my opinion.

GSPSCN Silver Tyre Inflator Heavy Duty Double Cylinders with Portable Bag, Metal 12V Air Compressor Pump 150PSI with Adapter for Car, Truck, SUV Tyres, Dinghy, Air Bed etc
2,745 Reviews
GSPSCN Silver Tyre Inflator Heavy Duty Double Cylinders with Portable Bag, Metal 12V Air Compressor Pump 150PSI with Adapter for Car, Truck, SUV Tyres, Dinghy, Air Bed etc
  • FAST INFLATION: GSPSCN Heavy Duty Double cylinder design,maximum pressure 150PSI, air flow 70L/min, inflates standard vehicle tyre in 1.5 minutes (200/70/R18, 0-40psi)
  • STABILITY TECHNOLOGY: Rubber feet to make sure the 12V air pump stays where it is placed and does not move around during operation ,make the air compressor more powerful,effectively reduce the vibration and noise
  • DOUBLE CYLINDERS DIRECT DRIVE INFLATION PUMP: In the direct drive of the motor, the two cylinders at the same time compressed air, powerful and fast inflatable, also direct-drive motor makes the drive low rotating speed, high efficiency, compact, quiet and stability, and easy to control
  • WORKS: particularly suitable for SUVs, trucks, vans, RVs, crossovers, MPVs, campers,Auto, trailers, minivans, also can use for cars, motorcycles, golf carts, bicycles, and more
  • EQUIPPED: with 3M cigarette lighter switch and 3M extension hose and high quality battery clamp, extension hose meet the needs of the long-wheelbase vehicle inflatable, battery clamp connect directly to your vehicle battery, power tyre inflator and other 12-volt devices, like vacuum, coffee maker, and more

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The GSPSCN portable air compressor is a little different from the other two we have mentioned in that it runs from the 12v supply in your car. There are positives and negatives to this, you don’t have to hope that you remembered to charge it last time you used it, but equally, you need to be careful not to flatten your car’s battery.

I would recommend leaving your engine running where possible, but obviously, be aware of the security risks involved with that.

One thing that I like with the GSPSCN portable compressor is the lights on it, it means that you don’t need to use a separate torch at night to see what you are doing attaching it to your tyre.

It also features a warning flashing light that allows other motorists to see you are working at the roadside. It is always recommended to wear high visibility clothing, use your hazard lights and stay safe but the light helps.

Again the GSPSCN features a gauge which is great for getting a reading before you start along with setting your required PSI level and it automatically shut off once it reaches that level.

Last update on 2021-05-05 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Oasser portable air compressor is a compact air compressor with a decent battery on it. This is slightly faster than the air hawk pro at inflating tyres and is in my opinion, a nicer looking unit. The product images are a little deceiving as it looks like it comes with two batteries, it in fact only comes with the one.

The oasser also features a digital pressure gauge, showing the current reading and allowing you to select your required pressure level. The Oasser also comes with a 2-year warranty.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are air compressor hoses universal?
Yes, to a degree. Whilst commercial air hoses may be a different size, in the main domestic air hoses are universal and can be used with any air compressor. There may be a need for different adapters and couplers depending on your compressor.

Can air compressors explode?

Yes, the excess build-up of heat and pressure inside an air compressor can cause an explosion. That is why it is important to store it somewhere that it won’t get knocked or near flammable products.

My air compressor will not start!

There are several things that could be causing this, the first things to check for would be, is the compressor plugged into a socket directly and not an extension lead, is the fuse good, does the compressor have oil in it. After this, it is worth consulting the manual for more troubleshooting steps.

Why use an air compressor for tools?
Airpower tools offer much more power than mains or battery-powered equivalents, they are usually much cheaper and have fewer parts to wear.

Can air compressors overheat?
Yes, it is advised you keep your air compressor from being covered and ensure you check the oil levels in your compressor before each time you use it.

Final thoughts on air compressors

Hopefully, this buyers guide has provided you with enough information for you to make a decision on what sort of air compressor you need and whether you need one at all.

We have looked at traditional air compressors and portable air compressors, both with completely different uses. We have looked at different use cases for air compressors, including power tools, cleaning and paint spraying.

If you have any comments or would like to see something added to this buyers guide please let us know in the comments.

About Mike Jones 191 Articles
I have been a keen DIY enthusiast for over 15 years, I’m constantly tinkering in my garage, taking things apart and building things. Along the way, I seem to have acquired a bit of a tool collection, as you do. The issue I found was that the information online when it comes to finding out what you need to know when buying new tools was somewhat limited. I didn’t necessarily need to know which tool to buy, but more what was important when making that buying decision. Also, a bit like a child in a sweet shop when I see new tools and things I can do with them I find it hard to resist. I started this blog back in 2017 to try and put together some buying guides, not really reviews but more what you may want to know before going and deciding on a new tool. I’m also a keen gardener and if there is a tool or gadget that helps me in the garden I’m going to let you know. I hope these musings and buyers guides are of use to you in some way. All the best, Mike.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.