Best Garden Incinerator – A Buyers Guide

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Why would you need a garden incinerator? In the UK waste collections are diminishing by the week, so if you can eliminate garden waste yourself all the better. In a time when identity theft is rife, destroying your sensitive paperwork such as bank statements also isn’t a bad idea. The ash generated from a fire can also be used as a fertiliser for your garden. So why wouldn’t you just create a fire, why would you need a garden incinerator? There are quite a few reasons and we will look at these as we go through the article, so let’s begin.

Only got 5 minutes?

We appreciate your time is precious and sometimes you may not have time to read through the full article and so we have put together this five-minute brief section. This will hit some of the highlights of the article and also recommend our best pick and best budget model. If you need more in-depth information you can read the full article, but if you just have 5 minutes this is just for you.

Burning garden waste and confidential household waste is something many of us do or intend to do. Having a garden fire can be a nightmare and a garden incinerator maybe just the answer. Some of the things a garden incinerator allows you to do better than a regular garden fire are;

  • Hotter fire, and higher burning temperatures
  • Legs on the bottom to stop the ground being marked or burnet
  • Contained fire with a flu to reduce and focus smoke

The higher the temperature of the garden fire the faster the contents burn, there is less wastage of none burned materials and the fire burns for less time reducing the environmental impact,

In an ideal world we wouldn’t have a garden fire, but there are times when they are a convenient option and one that saves time and money. Burning the waste as efficiently as possible is the plan and a garden incinerator allows you to do just that.

When looking to purchase a garden incinerator, I would recommend you look for one that has legs, a lid and is galvanised. Both our best pick and best budget garden incinerators below meet all of these three goals.

Our Best Pick

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our Best Budget

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our Best Pick Garden Incinerator – In Brief

Our best pick is the CrazyGadget 125L garden incinerator. There are several things we like about this model;

  • Lockable lid
  • Free ash shovel and bucket
  • 125L design, plenty of room for all of your burning needs.

Whilst this might be a bit on the large size for some gardens and back yards, we feel it is a happy medium. We have one double the size later on in the buyers guide and our best budget model is just 15 litres in capacity if that is more up your street.

Read on further down the article for more on our best pick.

Best Pick
CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel + 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub (Black)
Best of the rest
Large 90 Litre Incinerator Burning Fire Bin Rubbish Paper Leaves Burner with Poker and Shovel
Best Budget
CrazyGadget® Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid (15 Litre)
Best of the rest
Woodside 100L Square Garden Galvanised Incinerator Fire Bin Rubbish Pit
CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel + 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub (Black)
Large 90 Litre Incinerator Burning Fire Bin Rubbish Paper Leaves Burner with Poker and Shovel
CrazyGadget® Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid (15 Litre)
Woodside 100L Square Garden Galvanised Incinerator Fire Bin Rubbish Pit
Capacity
125L
90L
15L
100L
Free Tools?
Legs?
Rating
Price
Price not available
£34.99
£12.99
Price not available
Best Pick
CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel + 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub (Black)
CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel + 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub (Black)
Capacity
125L
Free Tools?
Legs?
Rating
Price
Price not available
Best of the rest
Large 90 Litre Incinerator Burning Fire Bin Rubbish Paper Leaves Burner with Poker and Shovel
Large 90 Litre Incinerator Burning Fire Bin Rubbish Paper Leaves Burner with Poker and Shovel
Capacity
90L
Free Tools?
Legs?
Rating
Price
£34.99
Best Budget
CrazyGadget® Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid (15 Litre)
CrazyGadget® Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid (15 Litre)
Capacity
15L
Free Tools?
Legs?
Rating
Price
£12.99
Best of the rest
Woodside 100L Square Garden Galvanised Incinerator Fire Bin Rubbish Pit
Woodside 100L Square Garden Galvanised Incinerator Fire Bin Rubbish Pit
Capacity
100L
Free Tools?
Legs?
Rating
Price
Price not available

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Why Trust Us

The internet is full of review sites that claim they have bought and rigorously tested every product so they can give you the best buying advice, Tripadvisor has some fake reviews, who do you trust?

Let us be straight from the off, we provide the following, we get a product category or subject area, find out everything you could possibly want to know about it, find some of the best products for sale in the category and combine it all into a concise buyers guide.

If we were buying something that is exactly what we are looking for, we don’t care much for someone’s opinion, we want facts, the best products based on specifications and reviews and it all presented in one place. That is what we provide in our buyer’s guides.

A little about Garden Incinerators

Some of the inherent problems with having a fire in your back garden involve burning the grass, the possibility of the fire spreading  along with the amount of smoke that is generated from a garden fire, which including annoying neighbours isn’t pleasant to be around either.

A garden incinerator has holes at the bottom of it which allow for Great airflow discuss the fire hotter and in turn, reduces the amount of smoke that is generated. The lid on top of the garden incinerator has a flu-like top to it, which focuses the smoke to one place. a garden incinerator in its basic appearance looks like a metal dustbin that sits on a set of legs. These legs keep the garden incinerator from your grass and make for a much tidier fire.

Is a Garden Incinerator for you?

Are you someone who has a lot of leaves in their back garden? Is your garden waste bin constantly full of grass cuttings? Or maybe you have some confidential waste and you want a secure method of disposing of it? One of the big benefits of using a garden incinerator is it doesn’t matter what the weather outside is like, a garden incinerator is useful whether it’s windy, raining or even on a sunny day.

We’ve all been there, a fire that will not burn and we have ended up with bits of paper and grass blowing all over the garden, it makes a mess, is dangerous and is not ideal. A garden incinerator allows for a controlled hot environment that gets through the waste in no time. It also does away with a lot of the risks associated with traditional garden fires.


Garden incinerators can seem a bit of a waste, surely you can achieve the same thing with an old metal dustbin? Or any other metal tin that you could burn the waste in? Below we look at some of the key advantages of a garden incinerator over a random metal box or bin you have lying around.

  • Holes at the bottom to allow air flow, making the fire burn hotter and more effectively, with less smoke.
  • A lid with a flu, to keep the waste contained, focus the smoke, maintain heat and keep the elements away from putting the fire out.
  • Legs, these will stop the surface you are having the fire on burning or marking, keeping your grass or patio in good condition.

If you look at some of the garden incinerators we have featured in this review you will see that price isn’t too much of an issue. I’m not saying let’s be frivolous and spend money without question, but in relation to other things for your garden, garden incinerators are relatively cheap.

What do you need to know about Garden Incinerators?

When trying to decide on which garden incinerator would suit you best, I would come up with a bit of a hit list. Once you have answered the following questions, choosing one becomes much simpler.

  • How much waste do you have to burn? If you have a small garden and don’t burn too much at a time, there is no point taking over your garden with a massive garden incinerator.
  • What sort of budget do you have?

The reason for the question of budget is because in most cases the increase in cost, comes from things such as galvanising the surface, to stop rust, help it withstand heat and increase the longevity of your garden incinerator.

What makes a garden incinerator valuable?

So why is this low cost metal tin great for garden fires and what makes it different from any other metal box?

In order to burn your waste efficiently, reduce the dense smoke that comes with a garden fire and therefore reduce the amount of pollution in the atmosphere, you require one thing. Heat, and lots of it! In order to get the temperature required, you need a combustible chamber, that is exactly what a garden incinerator gives you. The low level holes allow oxygen to enter the fire, but the solid construction of the garden incinerator allow for the fire to grow and not suffer from wind. The flu on top, allows the smoke to be funnelled out of the top and the metal construction conducts the heat to keep the fire hot. A hot fire burns faster and burns the things in the fire better.

You are left with ash that is stored in a safe container until it is cooled, once cooled it can be used to promote growth of your plants, acting as a fertiliser.

The other added benefit of a garden incinerator is that most feature legs. Keeping whatever you are burning off your grass and patio is not only safer, but also stops marks and burning to the surface below.

Best Pick CrazyGadget 125L Garden Incinerator

CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel + 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub (Black)
108 Reviews
CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel + 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub (Black)
  • CrazyGadget 125 Litre 125L Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid + Ash Shovel & 42L Litre Plastic Flexi Tub - Constructed from durable galvanised steel
  • SPECIAL LOCKING securing lid on the handle, Ready-made ventilation holes ensure efficient combustion
  • Features a sturdy, three-legged base, easy assembly required, Come with free ash shovel
  • Great for a range of different uses for burning different rubbish.
  • Unit can be easily relocated when cold using side handles. Size: 53cm (Dia) x 92cm (H)

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The CrazyGadget 125L garden incinerator comes with everything you could need to start you off with burning your garden waste. It has all of the key components that we have determined make a good garden incinerator;

  • Legs to keep it off the ground
  • Galvanised body
  • Holes at the bottom to increase the heat of the fire
  • Comes with a free ash shovel and flexible tub

The galvanised body helps maintain the integrity of the CrazyGadget garden incinerator, something that will get very hot by nature of the product. It also helps maintain the lifetime of the product and its resistance to the outside elements.

The free shovel and flexible tub are a nice addition that allow you to transfer the ash from the fire to a tub ready for spreading on your garden as a fertiliser.

For the price of this garden incinerator you get a lot for your money.

Best Budget – CrazyGadget 15L Garden Incinerator

CrazyGadget® Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid (15 Litre)
4,955 Reviews
CrazyGadget® Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid (15 Litre)
  • CrazyGadget Small Medium Large Extra Large Galvanised Metal Incinerator Fire Burning Bin with Special Locking Lid, Constructed from durable galvanised steel
  • SPECIAL LOCKING securing lid on the handle (Excl. 15L & 18L), Ready-made ventilation holes ensure efficient combustion
  • Features a sturdy, three-legged base, easy assembly required
  • Great for a range of different uses for burning different rubbish.
  • Unit can be easily relocated when cold using side handles

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

CrazyGadget make some pretty good garden incinerators and that’s why they have our best pick and best budget slot. Their 15 Litre offering is our best budget garden incinerator. Whilst this model is much smaller than our best pick, if you have a small garden or backyard this model will be perfect! Storage of this garden incinerator is much easier thanks to the size. It comes with some of the same great features, such as the lockable lid, legs and holes at the bottom and of course it has the galvanised body. It doesn’t come with the shovel or flexible tub for ash transportation and cleaning, but this model is nearly a third of the price.

The best of the rest

The Keto plastics garden incinerator (thankfully not made of plastic) has many pros and a few cons. The sheer size of this garden incinerator is great, it’s 210 litres in size which is great for getting through a lot of waste in one go or storing waste ready to burn.

It doesn’t have legs or handles, which make it, in my opinion, less than ideal for the reasons discussed above. I’m not saying don’t purchase one, as if you are looking for sheer volume this is great, but personally I think there are too many reasons why I wouldn’t personally buy this one. According to reviews on Amazon the paint doesn’t last too long either, which is a shame as it looks quite attractive initially for your garden.

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

This is a bit of a middle of the road product, at 90 litres with a galvanized body and handles, pretty standard stuff. One thing I like about this garden incinerator is the amount of holes and their placement, this encourages better air flow and in turn a higher burning temperature.

This model also comes with a shovel and fire poker, ideal for poking the materials you are burning through the holes in the side of the incinerator to encourage airflow and the fire to burn better.

Woodside 100L Square Garden Galvanised Incinerator Fire Bin Rubbish Pit
551 Reviews
Woodside 100L Square Garden Galvanised Incinerator Fire Bin Rubbish Pit
  • LARGE CAPACITY – The 100 litre capacity provides plenty of room to fill up with your rubbish. The burning pit area is 60cm x 40cm x 40cm, the overall height of the incinerator is 75cm. Compact enough to keep in your shed when not in use, large enough to take all the waste you need it to.
  • QUICK WASTE DISPOSAL – The quickest way to dispose of any garden waste such as leaves, branches and twigs. It can also be used for disposing of private, sensitive documents such as bank statements and personal letters.
  • INCREASED BURNING – Ventilation holes are included on all 4 sides of the incinerator and on the base to increase airflow and oxygen availability. This leads to a much improved burning rate for the garden incinerator, allowing you to get through more waste more quickly.
  • STRONG CONSTRUCTION – Made from galvanised steel, at a thickness of 0.9mm. It is the ideal thickness and material for an incinerator, and is shown when used by its quick and efficient disposal of your waste.
  • REMOVEABLE WIRE MESH – A wire mesh at the top of the incinerator enhances safety by preventing any burning embers or debris from escaping and keeping the contents enclosed. The openness of the mesh adds to further airflow and oxygen availability. PLEASE NOTE: Take care when opening the box on arrival and using the product, as the edges can be sharp and cause injury.

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Woodside 120L garden incinerator is different from all of the other products we have listed in this buyers guide. For starters it is a square shaped construction, it has holes all the way up and a metal grate on top. It does have legs to keep the incinerator off the ground, but doesn’t have handles, so once you have chosen a position in your garden it is in place.

The metal grate is a great addition as it stops debris from the fire flying all over your garden, it doesn’t, however, have the focused flu so we are a little concerned that the temperature may not get as hot as some of the other garden incinerators. The holes whilst being all the way down the incinerator, don’t actually start at the base of it, this may cause an issue with getting oxygen to the base of the fire and in turn, result in the fire not getting to as high a temperature.

Frequently Asked Questions


Garden Incinerator what can you burn?


Garden incinerators can be used for burning all sorts of garden waste, such as privets, grass cuttings, branches and much more. They are also useful for burning household waste such as sensitive paperwork, cardboard packaging, etc.


Why use a garden incinerator?


They are a much more efficient and environmentally friendly way of having a garden fire, as opposed to just starting a fire in a metal tin in your back garden.


How to start a garden incinerator?


Surprisingly, a garden incinerator is a fairly easy way of having a fire, thanks to it being self contained and having oxygen holes low down. You can usually light something at the bottom that is dry and flammable such as grass cuttings and you are away. If you need to add an accelerant to it that isn’t an issue.


Garden incinerator are they legal?


Certainly in the UK yes. As long as you aren’t burning materials that could cause toxic fumes such as polystyrene you should be fine. You would have to check the laws for different countries.

Gloves

Large Red Stove Fire and Barbecue Gloves
212 Reviews
Large Red Stove Fire and Barbecue Gloves
  • Red Gloves
  • one size fits all
  • One left hand one right hand
  • Black CE writing on each glove
  • Basic gloves for you stove fire

Last update on 2021-08-21 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Even though some of the garden incinerators we have mentioned include handles on the side, you really don’t want to touch them once the fire is going or for a while after. The incinerators are made of metal which conducts heat. If you do think you will need to move it, touch it or maybe open and close the lid once the fire has started, a set of gloves might come in handy. We found the ones below to be highly recommended and a reasonable price.

Conclusion

A garden incinerator is something that is cheap to purchase, most less than £40 and allows you to have a safe garden fire. It causes less pollution than regular fires, burns faster and doesn’t cause damage to the surface it is sat on.

In this buyers guide we have looked at some of the most popular models on Amazon at the moment. You just need to decide what features are important to you, capacity, extra tools, legs, etc and you should be able to find the perfect model for you.

About Mike Jones 192 Articles
I have been a keen DIY enthusiast for over 15 years, I’m constantly tinkering in my garage, taking things apart and building things. Along the way, I seem to have acquired a bit of a tool collection, as you do. The issue I found was that the information online when it comes to finding out what you need to know when buying new tools was somewhat limited. I didn’t necessarily need to know which tool to buy, but more what was important when making that buying decision. Also, a bit like a child in a sweet shop when I see new tools and things I can do with them I find it hard to resist. I started this blog back in 2017 to try and put together some buying guides, not really reviews but more what you may want to know before going and deciding on a new tool. I’m also a keen gardener and if there is a tool or gadget that helps me in the garden I’m going to let you know. I hope these musings and buyers guides are of use to you in some way. All the best, Mike.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.