Greenhouse Heaters – A Buyers Guide

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Greenhouse Heaters - A Buyers Guide

Do you need a greenhouse heater?

Gardening has become the hobby of choice in this chaotic and stressful world in which we live. It is relaxing, rewarding and something where you can involve family members of all ages.

Unfortunately, we live in the UK and the weather isn’t too kind to us here. We experience high winds, lots of rain and of course freezing temperatures throughout the winter months. In order to continue to grow herbs, vegetables and other green-fingered delights throughout these cold spells most of us have invested in or built a greenhouse.

Gardeners using greenhouses have a couple of common problems:

  • Low temperature during winter
  • Wind and water ingress

We can look at various insulation methods, we have prepared a guide on how to greenhouse insulation methods. But fundamentally the best way to keep your plants at the temperature they need throughout the winter months is greenhouse heaters.

In this guide we will go into some theory about greenhouse heaters, who needs one and suggest some of our favourites. We try to look at our overall favourite best pick (Fam Famgizmo 3kw Electrical Heater) and one that is great if you are on a budget. We also show you some of the competition for you to have a browse through.

5 Minute Overview

The idea of this section is if you only have 5 minutes to spare, what do you need to know about Greenhouse Heaters in brief and what are our best budget and best pick heaters?

If you are looking to protect your plants from the often harsh weather in the UK, keeping them in a greenhouse is a sterling idea. To regulate the temperature correctly a greenhouse heater really is a must.

Main advantages of a greenhouse heater

  • Temperature regulation, keeping optimum temperatures for growing crops and plants.
  • Allows for gardening all year round.
  • Allows for heating and ventilation in your greenhouse.

Key considerations of a greenhouse heater

  • Look for one with an IPX4 splash-proof rating.
  • Look for one that has an automatic thermostat to regulate temperature.
  • We prefer electric as the power source for a greenhouse heater (more information below).

We have provided all of the background research on greenhouse heaters below, but if you need to know the high points, that should get you started. Below we have our best pick greenhouse heater and the best budget heater.

Our Best Pick

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our Best Budget

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Best Pick Greenhouse Heater – In Brief

Our best pick is the Fam Famgizmo 3kw Electrical Heater The price point that this model comes in at is very reasonable when you consider it comes with a digital thermostat as well! This is a 3kW model that is capable of circulating 411m3 per hour. We look more in detail at this model further down this article. We did also consider the Bio Green PAL for the review, but the price is almost three times that of the one we chose, weighing up its features and specification we didn’t think it made the cut.

Best of the rest
Biogreen WM-P5 Warmax Power5 Paraffin Heater
Best Budget
Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater with Built in Temperature Control 100cm / 135 Watts
Best of the rest
Bio Green PAL 2.0/GB 2KW Palma Heater with Digital Thermostat
Best pick
fam famgizmo 3000W Industrial Electric Fan Heater Space Fan Heater with Adjustable Thermostat 3 heat Settings for Garage Workshop Greenhouse Shed Caravan Yellow Square
Best of the rest
Biogreen PHX 2.8/GB Phoenix Electric Fan Heater 1.0/ 1.8 /2.8KW
Name
Biogreen WM-P5 Warmax Power5 Paraffin Heater
Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater with Built in Temperature Control 100cm / 135 Watts
Bio Green PAL 2.0/GB 2KW Palma Heater with Digital Thermostat
fam famgizmo 3000W Industrial Electric Fan Heater Space Fan Heater with Adjustable Thermostat 3 heat Settings for Garage Workshop Greenhouse Shed Caravan Yellow Square
Biogreen PHX 2.8/GB Phoenix Electric Fan Heater 1.0/ 1.8 /2.8KW
Power Source
Paraffin
Electric
Electric
Electric
Electric
Integrated Thermostat?
Wattage
N/A
135w
2000w
3000W
2800w
Circulation (m3 per hour)
N/A
NA
163
411
N/A
Rating
Price
Price not available
Price not available
Price not available
Price not available
Price not available
Best of the rest
Biogreen WM-P5 Warmax Power5 Paraffin Heater
Name
Biogreen WM-P5 Warmax Power5 Paraffin Heater
Power Source
Paraffin
Integrated Thermostat?
Wattage
N/A
Circulation (m3 per hour)
N/A
Rating
Price
Price not available
Best Budget
Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater with Built in Temperature Control 100cm / 135 Watts
Name
Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater with Built in Temperature Control 100cm / 135 Watts
Power Source
Electric
Integrated Thermostat?
Wattage
135w
Circulation (m3 per hour)
NA
Rating
Price
Price not available
Best of the rest
Bio Green PAL 2.0/GB 2KW Palma Heater with Digital Thermostat
Name
Bio Green PAL 2.0/GB 2KW Palma Heater with Digital Thermostat
Power Source
Electric
Integrated Thermostat?
Wattage
2000w
Circulation (m3 per hour)
163
Rating
Price
Price not available
Best pick
fam famgizmo 3000W Industrial Electric Fan Heater Space Fan Heater with Adjustable Thermostat 3 heat Settings for Garage Workshop Greenhouse Shed Caravan Yellow Square
Name
fam famgizmo 3000W Industrial Electric Fan Heater Space Fan Heater with Adjustable Thermostat 3 heat Settings for Garage Workshop Greenhouse Shed Caravan Yellow Square
Power Source
Electric
Integrated Thermostat?
Wattage
3000W
Circulation (m3 per hour)
411
Rating
Price
Price not available
Best of the rest
Biogreen PHX 2.8/GB Phoenix Electric Fan Heater 1.0/ 1.8 /2.8KW
Name
Biogreen PHX 2.8/GB Phoenix Electric Fan Heater 1.0/ 1.8 /2.8KW
Power Source
Electric
Integrated Thermostat?
Wattage
2800w
Circulation (m3 per hour)
N/A
Rating
Price
Price not available

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

What is a greenhouse heater?

Plants need a few key elements to grow and develop;

  • Water and nutrients – plants take the water and nutrients from the soil to help them grow and develop.
  • Fresh air and clean soil – too many pollutants can harm your plant’s growth, this is why although we have covered electric greenhouse heaters in this review if you consider paraffin heaters you need to consider ventilation.
  • Light and temperature – This is why we have greenhouses that are primarily windows, plants need light. An inherent problem with lots of windows though in the winter months is they create a cold space, that is where our greenhouse heaters add so much value.

Greenhouse heaters allow us to regulate the temperature in our greenhouses, it is important to ensure that the temperature equally isn’t too hot. Our best pick Fam Famgizmo 3kw Electrical Heater and our budget option Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater both have thermostats allowing for temperature regulation.

Who needs a greenhouse heater?

If you live in the UK and have a greenhouse, the chances are you are the person who needs this product!

There are several things that need to be considered, firstly if you have built or purchased a greenhouse purely to offer shelter from the cold winds and a basic level of frost protection, then perhaps a greenhouse heater isn’t for you. But if you are serious about gardening I feel it is probably a must.
There are things that you can do to help the heater, such as insulating your greenhouse, reducing how hard your heater has to work and also your energy bills.

Elixr Greenhouse Heater

Any other considerations?

What things do you need to be aware of if you are thinking of buying a greenhouse heater? There are several fueling options to consider paraffin, propane and electric. I would also think it relevant to consider insulating your greenhouse before embarking on your journey.

Paraffin Heaters

Paraffin prevents a whole host of issues as a fuel for a greenhouse heater, including;

  • Not cheap to purchase
  • Flammable so storage is a consideration
  • Produces moisture, so greenhouse needs good ventilation
  • Produces harmful fumes

Another thing to be aware of with paraffin or other gas-powered heaters is the fact that they require topping up. Whereas an electric greenhouse heater can run continuously and self regulate through using a thermostat.

Propane Heaters

One of the benefits to non-electric greenhouse heaters, be it paraffin or propane-powered is that it doesn’t matter where your greenhouse is located and there is no need for mains electric. Sometimes a mains supply isn’t feasible.

Propane is a much cheaper fuel than paraffin and is readily available at supermarkets, petrol stations and local DIY shops.

Propane greenhouse heaters come with the same inherent problems as paraffin heaters, in that there is the danger of flammable gas and a burning flame that could prove hazardous in a greenhouse. Again it would require you to ensure your greenhouse is well ventilated which will, in turn, lead to it being cold and requiring more heat.

For me, the biggest reason to avoid propane as a source of fuel for your heater is that it causes even more moisture in the greenhouse than a paraffin heater. We have already seen that moisture leads to mould, this isn’t healthy for our plants or us.

Electric Heaters

Bio Green Greehouse Heater

So, why have we based the crux of this article on electric greenhouse heaters? If you choose the correct one, they are the most energy-efficient of the three, provide the most control when it comes to automation of temperature control and is the safest of the three greenhouse heaters.

Let us then dig a little deeper into each of these areas. Firstly, cost, whilst I appreciate the cost of electricity is only heading one way, with a well-insulated greenhouse, learn how to insulate your greenhouse here you can heat yours on a fairly tight budget. The negative to the gas-powered greenhouse heaters is a lack of automated temperature control, this means either you keep going and taking temperature readings and manually turning the heater on and off or you leave it running constantly. Either way, this leads to large running costs and not a great climate for growing your plants in.

The electric greenhouse heaters we have selected for our best pick and best budget option both come with automatic thermostats on them. Not all electric heaters come with automatic thermostats, but most do. These are great, you can research the optimum growing temperatures for your plants, set it and forget it, the heater will automatically start up and shut off to keep the temperature in your greenhouse consistent.

Of course, having a gas bottle and naked flame in any environment is dangerous, whilst being in a greenhouse it isn’t likely to get knocked or disturbed. Aside from the structure of the greenhouse, there is likely little that could catch fire, it still makes me a little uneasy the thought of gas and flames. Electric heaters are therefor in my eyes a much more safe offering.

But, what if you don’t have mains electricity in your greenhouse or indeed outside at all? What are your options? You could consider solar power, however, due to the nature of running a heater being quite a thirsty electric device, this may not suffice. You could also get an outdoor extension lead. These will run from a socket in your house or garage and into your greenhouse, they have cable suitable for outside and IP rated sockets on the other end to stop issues with moisture or liquid. Whilst this isn’t a permanent solution it does the job just fine through the winter months should you wish.

Your other option is running a cable from a socket at the back of your house underground to your greenhouse to provide a socket and power inside your greenhouse. This sounds complex and possibly even overkill, we have written a guide to show you just how simple wiring an external socket is.

Reducing Heating Costs

Another consideration regardless of whether you opt for an electric greenhouse heater, a paraffin heater or a propane heater is how can we reduce your heating costs.

There is a lot that can be done by way of insulating your greenhouse properly, we have written an article on the subject looking at all ways you can insulate your greenhouse, even though it is largely made of glass or perspex and can be fairly flimsy in nature.

There is also the consideration of when you come to choose a greenhouse heater choosing one that consumes less power or is energy efficient.

Our Best Pick Greenhouse Heater

fam famgizmo 3000W Industrial Electric Fan Heater Space Fan Heater with Adjustable Thermostat 3 heat Settings for Garage Workshop Greenhouse Shed Caravan Yellow Square
109 Reviews
fam famgizmo 3000W Industrial Electric Fan Heater Space Fan Heater with Adjustable Thermostat 3 heat Settings for Garage Workshop Greenhouse Shed Caravan Yellow Square
  • Multi-shift Control: Heat output max 3 KW. 3 heat settings to meet different needs: 30W (only fan), 1500W, 3000W. Environmentally friendly, no smoke, no dust or odor
  • Adjustable Temperature Thermostat Control (0-85℃)
  • Fast Heating: Takes 5-6 minutes to heat up a 20m² room. Maximum heating area: 40m²
  • Safe: has thermal protection, when the temperature overheat, the heater will automatically turns off. When the heater is tilted, it will also be turned off automatically
  • Strong and Durable: Ultra light aluminum fan leaves, runs fairly quietly. Heavy duty cold-rolled steel body element. Waterproof Class IPX4, IP44 Rated. Dimensions: 395mm X 270mm X 260mm

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

So after performing research into everything surrounding greenhouse heaters and what makes a good greenhouse heater, we looked at what was available on the market. If you have an unlimited budget you could throw money at the problem you may just choose the dearest. But we wanted to strike a balance of a heater that is perfectly capable of heating an average-sized greenhouse, that ticked all of the boxes laid out in our “How We Picked” section and didn’t break the bank.

We finally settled on the Fam Famgizmo 3kw Electrical Heater, this unit has a small footprint and so doesn’t take up much space at all. It is something that can be placed on a table or on the floor thanks to its IPX4 splash proof rating and contains a 3kW fan.

This unit manages to circulate 411m3 per hour of air around the greenhouse, in an average-sized greenhouse of around 8ft x 12ft this should be perfectly adequate to keep the temperature just right. We have seen more expensive models such as the Bio Green PAL that only actually delivers 163m3 per hour.

When setting up your greenhouse heater it gives you the option to choose 1.5KW or 3KW mode, obviously the former is more energy and cost-efficient but depending on the outside temperatures and time of year that might not suffice. There is also the option to use the greenhouse heater in fan-only mode, ideal in the summer months to keep the airflow circulating in your greenhouse without the requirement for heat.

Our Best Budget Greenhouse Heater

Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater with Built in Temperature Control 100cm / 135 Watts
88 Reviews
Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater with Built in Temperature Control 100cm / 135 Watts
  • SUPER ECONOMICAL - Our Tubes are a very low cost heating solution, running as low as fractions of pennies per hour. With a convenient On / Off power switch including indicator light and built in Temperature Control to help you save even more money and lower your carbon footprint. EASY TO ASSEMBLE, with minimal effort (All parts included) Available in a range of sizes to fit your purpose! (Standard Phillips screwdriver required for initial construction).
  • ·         ELIXIR TUBULAR HEATERS ARE IP44 RATED, meaning they are fully equipped to withstand water splashes from all angles. Making sure the product has long-lasting benefits and reduces damage risks over time. Our tubes are sturdily constructed from steel and then powder coated in white for extra durability and a sustained shelf-life.
  • A GREAT PRODUCT TO SERVE YOUR MOBILE HEATING NEEDS, be it for; airing cupboards, to help with condensation build up on windows and walls, in caravans, boats, kennels, out buildings, toilets and so on.
  • BUILT WITH SAFETY IN MIND - Put your mind at ease with inclusive safety features (such as water seals and an easy-to see indicator light) to make sure you are warm and more importantly, safe in your environment. INCREASE YOUR SAFETY with one of our Tube Heater Guards (Sold Separately) to make sure that there are no accidents, especially since the tube can get very hot to the touch. Just make sure you get the right size to accommodate your heater!
  • VARIED SIZES INCLUDE - 50cm / 55Watts | 70cm / 90Watts | 100cm / 120Watts or 150cm / 190Watts. Please see included variation listings to make sure you get the right size for your purposes. WARNING: Elixir Tube Heaters (when powered on) can get hot to the touch, do not try to move the heater during use or shortly thereafter.

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our best budget greenhouse heater goes to the Elixir Gardens TH03 Tube Heater, whilst this isn’t going to heat the greenhouse to the same temperatures as our best pick, it is still something worth considering.

In my eyes, this is more suited if you have a smaller greenhouse or you are looking for frost protection, even on its lowest setting it has a frost protection mode to keep your plants safe. It does also feature an automatic thermostat so that once your greenhouse gets to the required temperature it will automatically turn off.

Depending on where you are situated in the UK can also have a bearing on whether or not this is a viable solution if you live in Scotland or the Lake District where you get extreme temperatures it may not be the model for you.

One big plus for this unit is its energy efficiency, it is very cheap to run and would be a model that may be a contender for solar power. We have discussed that some may be in a situation where they don’t have outdoor power as a source for their greenhouse heater. With its lower power consumption, a well-positioned solar panel could be just the ticket.

The Best of the Rest

Not a fan of our best pick or best budget buy greenhouse heaters? Or maybe you just want to be aware of the competition out there. Below we have listed a selection of other alternatives, we have included some electric and some gas-powered greenhouse heaters.

Bio Green PAL 2.0

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Bio Green greenhouse heater packs a punch, whilst being one of the most expensive models in our review. Its air circulation is slightly less than our best pick at 163m3 per hour but its heat output is huge, at 2000W. It’s thermostat ranges from -50C – +99C. This really is a high-end greenhouse heater, but in most cases may be a little overkill.

Bio Green WM-P5

Biogreen WM-P5 Warmax Power5 Paraffin Heater
266 Reviews
Biogreen WM-P5 Warmax Power5 Paraffin Heater
  • 40 % longer burning time
  • Energy saving
  • Promotes healthy growth
  • Easy to use
  • Traditional design

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Another product from the Bio Green stable, this time a paraffin variant. This is a smaller greenhouse heater than the rest and is only really suitable for greenhouses up to 10’ x 6’. Once the fuel tank is full of paraffin you are looking at a run time of around 110 hours with both burners lit, so about four and a half days. We have discussed the positives and negatives of paraffin greenhouse heaters above.

Bio Green PHX 2.8 Electric Fan Heater

Biogreen PHX 2.8/GB Phoenix Electric Fan Heater 1.0/ 1.8 /2.8KW
107 Reviews
Biogreen PHX 2.8/GB Phoenix Electric Fan Heater 1.0/ 1.8 /2.8KW
  • 3 heat output options: 1kW, 1,8 kW, 2,8 kW
  • Heating and cooling(Ventilation) setting
  • Very quiet smooth running fan
  • Comes with hanging chains and floor mounting brackets
  • Spray waterproof IPX4

Last update on 2021-02-25 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Whilst this greenhouse heater is capable of heating small greenhouses right up to greenhouses of around 10’ x 20’, it is possibly a little overkill for the average greenhouse. This unit has three different heat settings, 1000w, 1800w and 2800w. It is also useful as a fan in the summer months to provide much-needed ventilation. Whilst it is around four times the price of our best pick, hence not making the cut, it is also a very versatile heater and can be used in and around the home too, whether it’s for heating, drying walls, etc.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are greenhouse heaters safe?

In the main yes, an electric greenhouse heater even more so. But as with anything safety precautions need to be taken. If you are using gas-powered heaters, I would recommend a carbon monoxide detector in your greenhouse, as the excess gasses that can be given off can be deadly.

Are greenhouse heaters expensive to run?

It depends on what you deem as expensive. It is also dependent on your electricity tariff but as a rule of thumb, you are likely to be looking at around £4 per day to run a standard electric greenhouse heater.

(Visited 1,277 times, 6 visits today)
Greenhouse Heater - Buyers Guide
About Mike Jones 181 Articles
I started doing DIY around the house and it soon developed into a hobby. I look for tools and products that are genuinely useful and get the job done. I enjoy writing product reviews, researching my buyers guides and putting tools through their paces. In my downtime, I like to run and I am a bit of a Netflix documentary geek.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.