Best Power Tools Combo Kits Review (2022) Buyers Guide

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Best Combo Kits

What are the Best 5 power tool combo kits of 2022?

Every homeowner, DIY enthusiast, tradesman or woodworker is going to need a combi drill. There are so many jobs that they can be used for and can be used with a variety of different materials too! However, ideally you are going to need an impact wrench too, as they are going to be much better suited to jobs where you may need that bit more torque and power! This is why a power tool kit is going to be great purchase option, as you can purchase two tools that are going to be compatible with each other and both work in the same ways! Not only this, but purchasing both as part of a power tool kit is going to save you money too!

Opting for a cordless power tool kit is always going to be your best option, as they will come with strong batteries that allow you to work anywhere – they will always be ready when you need them! We have compared some of the best cordless power tool kits in 2022 so that you don’t have to and included our favourites. We have found that the best power tool combo kit has to be the Makita DLX2131JX1 Combi Drill and Impact Driver Kit. However, we also found some really good quality models from Makita, Einhell, DeWalt, VonHaus and Wolf Professional.

Comparison of the best power tool combo kits 2022

In this table, we show some of the features side by side and what you get with each kit, of the combo kits we have in our review.

Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
VonHaus Cordless Impact Drill and Impact Driver Set with 2 x 1.5Ah Li-ion 18V MAX
DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
Einhell 4257216 BL 4.0 A Power X-Change 18 V Combi Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Kit, Twin Pack
Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
VonHaus Cordless 18V Drill and Impact Driver Set with Two E-Series 1.5 Ah Batteries and One Charger - Ergonomic Lightweight Screwdriver – Variable Speed Trigger - Strong and Tight Drilling
DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
Einhell 4257216 4.0 Ah Cordless Power X-Change Combi Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Kit - Twin Pack , Red
Batteries
3
2
2
2
2
Charger Included
Case Included
Ratings
Reviews
512 Reviews
75 Reviews
90 Reviews
418 Reviews
264 Reviews
Price
£299.99
£239.98
Price not available
£149.99
£197.88
Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
Batteries
3
Charger Included
Case Included
Ratings
Reviews
512 Reviews
Price
£299.99
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
Batteries
2
Charger Included
Case Included
Ratings
Reviews
75 Reviews
Price
£239.98
Read Reviews & Buy Now
VonHaus Cordless Impact Drill and Impact Driver Set with 2 x 1.5Ah Li-ion 18V MAX
VonHaus Cordless 18V Drill and Impact Driver Set with Two E-Series 1.5 Ah Batteries and One Charger - Ergonomic Lightweight Screwdriver – Variable Speed Trigger - Strong and Tight Drilling
Batteries
2
Charger Included
Case Included
Ratings
Reviews
90 Reviews
Price
Price not available
Read Reviews & Buy Now
DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
Batteries
2
Charger Included
Case Included
Ratings
Reviews
418 Reviews
Price
£149.99
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Einhell 4257216 BL 4.0 A Power X-Change 18 V Combi Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Kit, Twin Pack
Einhell 4257216 4.0 Ah Cordless Power X-Change Combi Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Kit - Twin Pack , Red
Batteries
2
Charger Included
Case Included
Ratings
Reviews
264 Reviews
Price
£197.88
Read Reviews & Buy Now

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Our top pick of the best

Makita DLX2131JX1 Combi Drill & Impact Driver

Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
512 Reviews
Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
  • Electric brakes
  • Equipped with battery protection circuit
  • Led job light to illuminate the work area
  • Compact and lightweight
  • DHP482Z Hammer Driver Drill with 2 speed transmission

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

This is an incredible tool set from Makita, it includes the DHP482Z LXT combi drill, the DTD152Z impact driver, 3x BL1840 4.0Ah batteries a charger and carry case. This is ideal if you are looking to start building your tools around the Makita brand or if you are looking to replace your combi drill and impact wrench as the price is fantastic.

The combi drill and impact driver both have really good torque, the impact wrench bosting 165Nm of tightening torque. They both have great comfort grips on them and the impact gun comes with an LED work light. They really are the professional’s choice. If you are a home DIY enthusiast they are amazing, if you a tradesman you know that these tools are dependable and whilst the highest price in our review really is worth the extra money.

  • 3x 4.0Ah batteries
  • DHP482Z LXT Combi Drill
  • DRD152Z Impact Driver
  • Charger and Carry Case

Batteries for your multi drill and impact driver

Temperature of batteries

Battery care is important, it is important you don’t overheat your batteries they need to be kept cool. Take this into account when you are storing your tools or batteries, either in a shed, garage or car or van. Try to find a cool place to store them. Also during use, if they start to get excessively hot swap them or let them cool down for a while.

Don’t overcharge your batteries

Your batteries don’t like to be run completely flat nor do they like charging for no reason. Make sure you put them on charge as you start to notice a reduction in power in the tool, don’t just leave them on charge remove them when they are finished. Always try to keep your batteries charged up this is useful for when it comes to your next project plus keeps the battery healthy.

Not enough juice in your batteries?

Sometimes the batteries we have either get old and lose power or just don’t have enough capacity to get the workload we have done. Below we have put links to additional batteries and where possible larger capacity batteries for the power tools we are reviewing in this combo kit review.

Makita BL1850 632B77-5 Lithium-Ionen Battery 18V 5 Ah
Makita BL1850 632B77-5 Lithium-Ionen Battery 18V 5 Ah
Unbeatable 45 minute charge time.; Same weight as 3.0Ah battery; Model number: BL1850
£78.25
RYOBI RB18L40 18V ONE+ Lithium+ 4.0Ah Battery
RYOBI RB18L40 18V ONE+ Lithium+ 4.0Ah Battery
More power, longer runtimes & increased durability; 4 stage fuel gauge (100%, 75%, 50%, 25%)
£69.99
Sale
Einhell Power X-Change 18V, 2.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery Universally Compatible With All PXC Power Tools And Garden Machines
Einhell Power X-Change 18V, 2.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery Universally Compatible With All PXC Power Tools And Garden Machines
Battery can be used for Power X-Change products; Power X-Change 2.0 Ah lithium battery; 40 minutes fast charge when used with Power X-Change charger
£39.95 −8% £36.68

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Best DIY Enthusiast Combo Kit

Ryobi ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill & Impact Driver Kit Review

Sale
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
75 Reviews
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
  • Includes: 18V Li-ion Cordless Combi Hammer Drill - R18PD3
  • Includes 18V Li-ion Cordless Circular Saw - R18CSP
  • Includes 18V Li-ion Cordless Impact Driver - R18IDP
  • Includes 2 x 2.0Ah Lithium-ion batteries, Charger and Ryobi Large Tool Bag
  • Part of the Ryobi One+ Range, Use the batteries in over 70 Ryobi tools!

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The normal two piece combo kit from Ryobi we review isn’t available at the moment whilst we are in lockdown, whilst the kit above is more expensive, it includes the same tools plus their amazing circular saw.

This combo kit from Ryobi offers a combi drill, impact driver, 2 x 1.3Ah batteries, charger a soft case. An all-round kit we feel ideal for the DIY enthusiast.

It has a fast charger which can recharge your battery in 1 hour, great if you are in the middle of a big job and don’t have hours to wait whilst your batteries charge up. The dual 1.3Ah batteries provide enough juice to get the job done allowing you to jump between tools without needing to keep swapping the battery – reducing wear and tear on the mechanism. The impact driver features a health 220NM of torque and the combi drill an integrated LED flashlight.

  • 220NM torque impact driver
  • Combi drill with belt clip
  • 2 x 1.3Ah batteries
  • Charger and carry case

Overall Product Review

This isn’t the budget end of our reviewed items, nor is it the most expensive. It sits at a slightly dearer model for the DIY enthusiast, however, the power it delivers and features on offer make it a great option. The powerful charger and included twin barreries are a big selling feature in our opinion. This would also be ideal as a cheaper spare/reserve kit for a tradesman.

Best Budget Combo Kit

VonHaus 18v Combo Kit Review

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

This is the new updated VonHaus kit, previously this kit contained a sander, jigsaw and torch. It was a great budget bit of kit but at 12v it didn’t have much power to it.

This has been replaced with a 18v combi drill and impact wrench. Whilst it still sits in our budget category, it is something to be taken very seriously!

  • 2x 1.5Ah battery and charger
  • Combi Drill
  • Impact Driver
  • 18v

Overall Product Review

Being the new upgraded kit, it really is a major contender now with 18v at its disposal. One of the things we would like to have seen improved is a larger capacity battery, whilst we do have 2 batteries a 3MAh battery wouldn’t have gone amiss.

It is a cracking set at a great price to be checked out!

Best Tradesman Combo Kit

DeWalt 18v Combo Set Review

DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
418 Reviews
DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
  • Compact, lightweight design. Battery Capacity : 2.0 Ah
  • DCD710 - 15 Position adjustable torque control for consistent screw driving into a variety of materials with different screw sizes
  • DCF815 - All metal gearing for efficient power transmission and long tool life

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

DeWalt is one of the more premium brands that we at ToolsReviewUK have grown to trust as a professional choice. It is great for the tradesman and DIY enthusiast who has a little more to spend.

This DeWalt XR combo kit features 2x 2.0Ah batteries, a charger, small and compact impact wrench which is great in tight spaces and combi drill. Both features integrated LED lights and both pack one hell of a punch.

  • 155Nm torque impact wrench
  • 1500rpm combi drill;
  • 2x 2.0Ah batteries
  • Charger and carry case

Overall Product Review

This DeWalt cordless combo kit has two amazing tools that are both feature-rich, both featuring integrated LED lights, the impact wrench has one-handed fitment of bits via its drop-in keyless hex driver. They both have all-metal gearboxes which not only allow for more efficient power delivery but also help the tools to last for many years to come. This is a great set if you are looking to start your tool collection with DeWalt, move brands from someone like Bosch or Makita or adding to your existing DeWalt collection.

Einhell 4257216 BL Cordless Combo Tool Kit Review

Sale
Einhell 4257216 4.0 Ah Cordless Power X-Change Combi Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Kit - Twin Pack , Red
264 Reviews
Einhell 4257216 4.0 Ah Cordless Power X-Change Combi Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Kit - Twin Pack , Red
  • Battery can be used for Power X-Change products
  • Twin pack
  • Brushless motor for more power and prolonged operation
  • Includes impact drill and impact driver
  • Also included: 2.0 Ah battery, 4.0 Ah battery, fast charger and carry bag

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Einhell produces some amazing tools and this combo set would feel right at home for both the enthusiast DIY’er or tradesman and this is reflected in both its feature set and its price.

  • 1 x 2Ah and 1 x 4Ah battery
  • Brushless motors
  • Combi drill & Impact wrench
  • Fast charger and carry case

Overall Product Review

The Einhell 4257216 combo set packs some serious punch and will make light work of all but the most demanding tasks around the home.

The inclusion of both a 2.0Ah battery and a 4.0Ah battery mean that downtime between charges will be at a minimum. This, coupled with the brushless motor design allows for more power and prolonged operation compared to some of the competition here.

As with most drill battery systems – the included batteries are fully compatible with Einhell Power X-Charge tools.

Conclusion

So, let’s round up the review. We have looked at some of the best combo cordless power tool kits on offer in 2022. The brands that made it into our top 5 best cordless combo tool kits were Makita, DeWalt, VonHaus, Wolf and Einhell.

We try to make our reviews appeal to as many people as possible. Whilst we reviewed 5 of the best power tool kits we considered what would be the best for the tradesman and what would be the best for the home user. We feel the best tradesman option would be the Makita DLX2188M3J.

Our overall champion is definitely the Makita DLX2188M3J combi drill and impact driver set. The batteries have the largest capacity at 4.0Ah and there are three of them! The 166Nm of torque from the impact wrench is fantastic and really delivers when it’s required.

Best Pick Combo Kit

Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
512 Reviews
Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
  • Electric brakes
  • Equipped with battery protection circuit
  • Led job light to illuminate the work area
  • Compact and lightweight
  • DHP482Z Hammer Driver Drill with 2 speed transmission

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The overall winner of this review is with no surprise the Makita DLX2131JX1 combo drill and impact driver set. This is the priciest power tool combo kit we have on review, however, it is for very good reason. You get the reliability and robustness of the Makita brand, coupled with a hard wearing stackable case, 3x 4.0Ah batteries, a charger and the fabulous DHP482Z LXT combi drill and DRD152Z impact driver.

Best Tradesman Combo Kit

DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
DEWALT DCK211D2T 10.8V Li-ion Cordless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver (Twin Pack)
Compact, lightweight design. Battery Capacity : 2.0 Ah; DCF815 - All metal gearing for efficient power transmission and long tool life
£149.99

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The DeWalt 18v XR combo kit reigns the tradesman’s choice in this category as in so many others. The XR range really is an outstanding range of tools and a great choice for the busy tradesman who needs to get the job done. With a powerful combi drill and impact wrench, a carry case and 2x 2.0Ah batteries. This will complement the rest of the XR range perfectly.

If the battery life is a concern and you need ramp up the capacity of the batteries in your tool kit, you can purchase some 4Ah batteries that are compatible with this combo kit.

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Best DIY enthusiast Combo Kit

Sale
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
Ryobi 18v Triple Kit Combi Drill, Impact Driver & Circular Saw 2X 2.0Ah Li-ion Batteries & Charger
Includes: 18V Li-ion Cordless Combi Hammer Drill - R18PD3; Includes 18V Li-ion Cordless Circular Saw - R18CSP
£249.99 −4% £239.98

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Ryobi One+ range is a great addition to the DIY enthusiast’s tool collection. It features dual 1.3Ah battery that will last through some of the toughest of DIY projects you throw at the set. You can use one battery while the others being charged to minimise downtime.

Best Budget Combo Kit

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The award for the best budget combo kit goes to VonHaus. Whilst this set isn’t suitable for someone who takes home DIY seriously and invests a lot of time and energy it is a great addition to the household where the budget is a concern. It features a 18v combi drill and impact driver, with 2 batteries to boot.

Our top pick of the best

Makita DLX2188M3J Combi Drill & Impact Driver

Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
512 Reviews
Makita DLX2131JX1 18V Li-ion LXT Combi Kit Including DHP482Z Combi Drill, DTD152Z Impact Driver, 3 x 3.0 Ah Li-ion Battreries and Charger in a Makpac Case
  • Electric brakes
  • Equipped with battery protection circuit
  • Led job light to illuminate the work area
  • Compact and lightweight
  • DHP482Z Hammer Driver Drill with 2 speed transmission

Last update on 2022-08-19 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

This is an incredible power tool set from Makita, it includes the DHP482Z LXT combi drill, the DTD152Z impact driver, 3x BL1840 4.0Ah batteries a charger and carry case. This is ideal if you are looking to start building your tools around the Makita brand or if you are looking to replace your combi drill and impact wrench as the price is fantastic.

The combi drill and impact driver both have really good torque, the impact wrench bosting 165Nm of tightening torque. They both have great comfort grips on them and the impact gun comes with an LED work light. They really are the professional’s choice. If you are a home DIY enthusiast they are amazing, if you a tradesman you know that these tools are dependable and whilst the highest price in our review really is worth the extra money.

  • 3x 4.0Ah Batteries
  • DHP482Z LXT Combi Drill
  • DRD152Z Impact Driver
  • Charger and Carry Case

We have reviewed the Makita DLX2188M3J in detail, make sure you check it out for a more in-depth review.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between a combi drill and an impact driver?

An impact driver is going to be the tool that you start with. It comes with the most power and is going to allow you to drill holes into a range of materials including woods, plastics and laminates. A combi drill however is going to be able to work with a wider range of materials and offers more flexibility in the power and speeds that it is able to work at.

Do cordless power tool kits come with two batteries?

This really depends on the make and model. Some will come with two batteries, whereas others will come with just one battery. Personally, we think it is worth paying the extra for the two batteries so that one can always be charging whilst the other is working.

About Mike Jones 193 Articles
I have been a keen DIY enthusiast for over 15 years, I’m constantly tinkering in my garage, taking things apart and building things. Along the way, I seem to have acquired a bit of a tool collection, as you do. The issue I found was that the information online when it comes to finding out what you need to know when buying new tools was somewhat limited. I didn’t necessarily need to know which tool to buy, but more what was important when making that buying decision. Also, a bit like a child in a sweet shop when I see new tools and things I can do with them I find it hard to resist. I started this blog back in 2017 to try and put together some buying guides, not really reviews but more what you may want to know before going and deciding on a new tool. I’m also a keen gardener and if there is a tool or gadget that helps me in the garden I’m going to let you know. I hope these musings and buyers guides are of use to you in some way. All the best, Mike.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.