Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Combi Drill Review

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Bosch PSB 1800 Li-2 Combi Drill Review

Quick Summary: The Bosch PSB 1800 is a fantastic all-round drill, it comes with two batteries, a charger, and a case. It is designed for the DIY enthusiast and is one of the best selling drills of the moment! It makes light work of drilling and is a great screwdriver too.

This drill still proves to be one of Bosch’s best entry level combi drills, but Bosch has also released the Universal Impact Driver, which on first glance sounds like an impact driver. In fact it is more of a hammer drill but with impact driver features on the side. If you are after a dedicated impact driver there are certainly better offerings, but this might set to be a likely replacement for the Bosch PSB 1800 a few years down the road.

The Bosch PSB 1800 comes with 2x 1.5Ah Lithium-ION batteries and a charger capable of recharging them within an hour. You would be hard pushed to be completing a task that didn’t allow for you to work continuously rotating the batteries as they need charging with this Bosch Combi Drill.

This drill won our award for best combi drill of 2020 in our Combi Drill Review and you can see why, with its keyless chuck, two-speed gearbox and 20 pre-selectable torque settings it has some of the features of much higher priced models. Add to that it’s two batteries, charger and case that all ship with the Bosch PSB 1800 and you have a great product for a great price.

Does it make an impact?

The PSB 1800 from Bosch is great for a variety of tasks. It has 39Nm of torque which we agree is a bit short of what is offered by its impact driver twin.

Sale
Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 batteries, 18 Volt System, in carrying case)
17,163 Reviews
Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 batteries, 18 Volt System, in carrying case)
  • The PSB 1800 LI-2 cordless combi drill – power and comfort for drilling and screwdriving operations
  • Optimum power for every task 3-in-1 system that can be used for screwdriving, drilling and impact drilling. It also features 20 torque settings for screwdriving in different materials
  • Suitable for different materials For drilling and screwdriving in wood and metal or impact drilling in masonry, Drilling in metal 2.5 m/s²
  • Easy screw and drill bit changes The cordless combi drill features a 10 mm shank and a single-sleeve drill chuck
  • Power for ALL 18 V The battery supplied is compatible with all tools within the green Bosch Home & Garden 18 volt system

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

We did an article on The Best Impact Drivers of 2021 should you want to find out more about its counterpart the Bosch Professional GDR impact driver. However, it provides enough torque to drive most fixings in.

Combine this with its drilling and impact drilling functionality and it is a great all-round combi drill. Drills do require the ability to be able to drive fixings from time to time and it is personal preference on whether or not you prefer an impact driver for the job. This PSB 1800 combi drill from Bosch has the option should you require it.

We personally like the shape and size of the drill. Bosch has made a nicely designed drill that allows you to work in confined spaces, whilst providing something that is comfortable to use, hold and grip in their PSB 1800 LI 2.

Bosch PSB 1800 Li-2 Combi Drill Set
Sale
Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 batteries, 18 Volt System, in carrying case)
Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 batteries, 18 Volt System, in carrying case)
Scope of supply PSB 1800 LI-2, 2 batteries, charger, screwdriver bit, case; Note Please use the product in a good ventilated area and also prevent dust accumulation
£126.00 −52% £Check

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Bosch PSB 1800 – Vital Statistics

The Bosch weighs in at around 1.2Kg with a battery attached. This makes the PSB 1800 an incredibly light-weight option as a combi drill and will allow you to drill for longer. Included in the package:

  • Bosch PSB 1800 Li-2 Cordless Hammer Drill
  • Fast charger (1 hour charge time)
  • 2x 1.5Ah batteries
  • Screwdriver Bit
  • A blow molded plastic carry case
  • Instruction manual

We have reviewed combi drills from Makita, Bosch, DeWalt and many more. We wouldn’t say that the Bosch PSB 1800 is the best drill we have ever reviewed.

It lacks power and battery capacity compared with some of the competition. We would, however, say it makes for a very well rounded product with a great price to match.

As always with Bosch the warranty that comes with the product is 2 years which once activated online becomes 3 years, this really does finish the product off nicely.

Bosch PSB 1800 Accessory Set

Bosch does a very handy 91 piece bit and screwdriver set as part of this range. It is well worth checking out if you are purchasing a combi drill for the first time and don’t yet have any drill bits.

It is less than half the price of the drill and features a ratchet screwdriver, all the bits you could need, plus 11x masonry, 11x metal and 8x wood drill bits to get you going.

Sale
Bosch 91pc. V-Line Titanium Drill and Screwdriver Bit Set (for Wood, Masonary and Metal, Including Ratchet Screwdriver and Magnetic Rod, Accessories Drill and Screwdriver)
12,767 Reviews
Bosch 91pc. V-Line Titanium Drill and Screwdriver Bit Set (for Wood, Masonary and Metal, Including Ratchet Screwdriver and Magnetic Rod, Accessories Drill and Screwdriver)
  • Suitable for all handheld and stationary drills with a practical Bosch V-Line case for the clear layout of the content
  • Twist drill bits for metal, plexiglass and plastics, masonry drill bits for masonry, limestone, natural stone and cast stone, brad point drill bits for hard wood, soft wood and plastic
  • Scope of delivery: 11x HSS TiN twist drill bits Ø 2-8 mm for metal, plexiglass & plastics, 11x CYL-1 masonry drill bits Ø 3-10 mm for masonry, sand lime bricks, natural stone & cast stone
  • 8x brad point drill bits Ø 3-10 mm for hard wood, soft wood & plastic, 34x screwdriver bits 25 mm: 8x Cross-Head PH 0/0/1/1/2/2/3/3, 8x Pozidriv PZ 0/0/1/1/2/2/3/3, 4x Slot Head S 3/5/5/7, 10x Torx T 10/10/15/15/20/20/25/25/30/40, 4x Hex H 4/5/5/6
  • 15x screwdriver bits 50 mm: 4x Cross-Head PH 0/1/2/3, 4x Pozidriv PZ 0/1/2/3, 1x Slot Head S 6, 4x Torx T 10/15/20/25, 2x Hex H 5/6, 8x nutsetters Ø 6-13 mm, 1x magnetic universal holder, 1x countersink Ø12.7 mm, 1x ratchet screwdriver, 1x magnetic rod

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

What we like!

  • 20 different torque settings, something for every situation and power requirement.
  • The Bosch Autolock keyless chuck makes changing of bits so simple.
  • Integrated work light, by comparison to Makita’s built-in light. This one stays on and comes on ready for you to line up your screw before you start fastening it in place.
  • Supports the same batteries as the rest of the Bosch range, offering to swap batteries about with other tools in the range.

Bosch PSB 1800 Bundle offer!

Amazon has a special offer on right now where you can get the Bosch PSB 1800 LI2 with two batteries and a Bosch 50 piece accessory kit.

The link below will take you straight to the exclusive offer and get you the latest price.

Sale
Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Hammer Drill Driver with 2x 18V Batteries and 50-Piece Accessory Set
181 Reviews
Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Hammer Drill Driver with 2x 18V Batteries and 50-Piece Accessory Set
  • Lithium-Ion battery technology
  • Two speed gearbox
  • 20 pre-selectable torque, drill and impact drill settings
  • Keyless chuck and soft grip
  • Includes two 18 V batteries

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Need More Power?

The PSB 1800 is a fantastic combi drill for general home use but if you need a little more power then you should consider the Bosch PSB 18 LI-2.

The PSB 18 LI-2 has all the great features of the PSB 1800 with the following inprovements:

  • Screw diameter up to 10mm (8mm on PSB 1800)
  • Drilling diameter in wood up to 35mm (20mm on PSB 1800)
  • Drilling diameter in steel up to 13mm (10mm on PSB 1800)
  • True 18v Power

We’ve previously reviewed the ergonomic version of the PSB 18 LI-2 here

Bosch Cordless Combi Drill PSB 18 LI-2 (Without Battery, 18 Volt System, Screw Diameter: 10 mm, in Carton Packaging)
119 Reviews
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill PSB 18 LI-2 (Without Battery, 18 Volt System, Screw Diameter: 10 mm, in Carton Packaging)
  • Compact, ergonomic design thanks to brushless motor technology
  • Perfect control over the tool thanks to innovative “KickBack Control” technology – detects sudden jamming and shuts down the tool
  • Syneon Chip – Intelligently controlled energy for every project
  • 20 torque settings, drill setting, 2 gears with innovative forward/reverse switch for drilling/screwdriving, impact function can be switched on separately
  • One battery fits all – suitable for all DIY and garden tools in the Power for ALL lithium-ion cordless systems

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Other Alternatives to the PSB1800

If you are looking for other alternatives to the PSB1800 we’ve selected some other makes and models you might want to consider:

Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah)
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah)
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Torque Settings
20
24
10
Max Torque (Nm)
30
50
30
Drill Chuck (mm)
10
13
10
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
2 x 1.5Ah
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
Reviews
1,941 Reviews
5,341 Reviews
1,757 Reviews
Price
£Check
£Check
£Check
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Torque Settings
20
Max Torque (Nm)
30
Drill Chuck (mm)
10
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
Reviews
1,941 Reviews
Price
£Check
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah)
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah)
Torque Settings
24
Max Torque (Nm)
50
Drill Chuck (mm)
13
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
Reviews
5,341 Reviews
Price
£Check
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Torque Settings
10
Max Torque (Nm)
30
Drill Chuck (mm)
10
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
Reviews
1,757 Reviews
Price
£Check
Read Reviews & Buy Now

Last update on 2022-11-28 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

In Summary

Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Combi Drill
  • Performance
  • Features
  • Ergonomics
  • Value
4.1

Summary

The Bosch PSB 1800 Combi Drill is a well-specified drill from Bosch that delivers in many categories, including price and warranty!

Pros

  • Multiple torque settings
  • Keyless chuck
  • Integrated worklight
  • Interchangeable batteries

Cons

  • Could be more robust
About Mike Jones 193 Articles
I have been a keen DIY enthusiast for over 15 years, I’m constantly tinkering in my garage, taking things apart and building things. Along the way, I seem to have acquired a bit of a tool collection, as you do. The issue I found was that the information online when it comes to finding out what you need to know when buying new tools was somewhat limited. I didn’t necessarily need to know which tool to buy, but more what was important when making that buying decision. Also, a bit like a child in a sweet shop when I see new tools and things I can do with them I find it hard to resist. I started this blog back in 2017 to try and put together some buying guides, not really reviews but more what you may want to know before going and deciding on a new tool. I’m also a keen gardener and if there is a tool or gadget that helps me in the garden I’m going to let you know. I hope these musings and buyers guides are of use to you in some way. All the best, Mike.

2 Comments

  1. I just recently bought a Bosch PSB Combi Drill and I am trying to register it for the 3 year guarantee. Can anyone tell me where (if anywhere) is the E nr to be found on one of this? Without it you just can’t register the tool and the nr is nowhere to be seen…fishy

    • Hi, the serial number is usually displayed on the box that the drill came in. Did you buy the drill brand new? If not I would contact Bosch customer care, they are very good and will help you find it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.