Gtech Hedge Trimmer Review

Gtech Hedge Trimmer

The Gtech Hedge Trimmer HT20 allows you to trim hedges, bushes and trees without the need for a ladder.

We have reviewed the entire product range from Gtech in our overall Gtech review. However, in this review, we are going to focus solely on the Gtech hedge trimmer. It’s cordless, offers a 40 minute run time from 4 hours of charge and is well balanced for ease of use and operator comfort. So, let’s begin!

Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
83 Reviews
Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
  • Gtech cordless Hedge trimmer HT20

Assembly of the Gtech Hedge Trimmer

We took delivery of the Gtech HT20 hedge trimmer and found that it was well packaged and easy to assemble. It comes in four components as you can see in our video below:

  • The handle with trigger
  • 2000 mah battery
  • The charger
  • The main body of the HT20

The handle and main body of the Gtech hedge trimmer snap into place with a plastic lug that keeps them secure and stops them from becoming separated. The battery snaps into the end of the handle, again with release clips to keep it nice and secure and you are ready to go, that’s it, that simple!

Gtech HT20 Battery Power

The battery indicator which is built into the Gtech HT20 is great for keeping an eye on how much power is in the cordless hedge trimmer. 4 hours of charging time allow for 40 minutes of run time, plenty to achieve what you wish in the average sized garden. You can purchase additional batteries should you wish or use the battery from the Gtech ST20 cordless grass trimmer if you have one. The indicator allows you to keep an eye on how much time you have left whilst going about your trimming.

The Competition

There is strong competition in the cordless hedge trimmer market, from models such as the VonHaus 20v hedge trimmer and the Bosch AHS 50-20. In the table below we look at a comparison of some of the features.

Bosch
Bosch AHS 50-20 LI Cordless Hedge Cutter with 18 V Lithium-Ion Battery, 500 mm Blade Length, 20 mm Tooth Opening
Gtech
Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
Von Haus
VonHaus Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer with 20V MAX Battery, Charger, Shoulder Strap & Blade Cover - Includes Dual Action Laser Cut Blades, 135° Adjustable Head & Extendable Reach
Name
Bosch AHS 50-20 LI Cordless Hedge Cutter with 18 V Lithium-Ion Battery, 500 mm Blade Length, 20 mm Tooth Opening
Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
VonHaus Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer with 20V MAX Battery, Charger, Shoulder Strap & Blade Cover - Includes Dual Action Laser Cut Blades, 135° Adjustable Head & Extendable Reach
Weight
2.5Kg
4.24Kg
5.82Kg
Battery Included?
Run Time
40 Minutes
45 Minutes
50 Minutes
Charge Time
1 Hour
4 Hours
60 Minutes
Rating
Price
£117.99
£149.99
£79.99
Bosch
Bosch AHS 50-20 LI Cordless Hedge Cutter with 18 V Lithium-Ion Battery, 500 mm Blade Length, 20 mm Tooth Opening
Name
Bosch AHS 50-20 LI Cordless Hedge Cutter with 18 V Lithium-Ion Battery, 500 mm Blade Length, 20 mm Tooth Opening
Weight
2.5Kg
Battery Included?
Run Time
40 Minutes
Charge Time
1 Hour
Rating
Price
£117.99
Gtech
Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
Name
Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
Weight
4.24Kg
Battery Included?
Run Time
45 Minutes
Charge Time
4 Hours
Rating
Price
£149.99
Von Haus
VonHaus Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer with 20V MAX Battery, Charger, Shoulder Strap & Blade Cover - Includes Dual Action Laser Cut Blades, 135° Adjustable Head & Extendable Reach
Name
VonHaus Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer with 20V MAX Battery, Charger, Shoulder Strap & Blade Cover - Includes Dual Action Laser Cut Blades, 135° Adjustable Head & Extendable Reach
Weight
5.82Kg
Battery Included?
Run Time
50 Minutes
Charge Time
60 Minutes
Rating
Price
£79.99

Setup of your hedge trimmer

Moving down towards the head of the Gtech cordless hedge trimmer you find two release switches, as I highlight in the video below. There is one that when pressed allows you to rotate the head of the HT20 to a 90-degree angle. This is great for doing the top of a hedge or reaching over a hedge to do the other side. This again has various locking positions allowing you to be sure it won’t move whilst using it. Further down again there is another release switch that allows you to remove the cutting blades entirely. Make sure you leave the plastic blade guard on whilst you are doing this as it can be quite sharp. This then allows it to be changed for the branch cutting accessory.

Once you have selected your angle, decided between the Gtech branch cutter attachment or standard trimming blades, removed the safety guard and checked your battery is charged you are ready to go! To start the Gtech hedge trimmer up, there is a safety switch that must be held this has been designed to be pressed whether you are a right or left handed person. It is accessible from both sides of the hedge trimmer. Once this is held in place the trigger can be pulled and you can let go of the safety lever.

Gtech Hedge Trimmer Ergonomics

One of the things you notice when using the Gtech hedge trimmer is that whilst the unit is around 2 metres long and weighs 2.25kg which held at length can feel a little heavy, it is very well balanced. This is something that is really important, if you are going to be holding a hedge trimmer at length for up to 40 minutes it really needs to be as comfortable as possible and not be putting any more strain than absolutely required on your body. Gtech has really done a good job of this.

Gtech Branch Cutter

We also managed to get our hands on the optional extra branch cutting attachment. When using the Gtech hedge trimmer you will find it cuts through leaves, bushes, and various tough and thick stems with ease. However, it isn’t designed for and won’t really cut it when it comes to anything remotely thicker than what you would expect on a bush or hedge. If you are trimming a tree back you will no doubt come across a small branch that you want to cut back. in steps the Gtech branch cutter attachment.

It is easy to exchange the standard cutter for the branch cutter and once the guard is removed it looks very similar to a pizza cutter. In testing, as you can see in the video, I tried a small branch perhaps 10-20mm thick and it cut it no problem at all. I then tried it on a branch that was over 40mm just to see how it would fair. After a few cuts each side it cut through no problem. I wouldn’t recommend you do this regularly as Gtech don’t recommend anything more than 40mm. It was nice however to see that should the situation arise it performed flawlessly.

Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
83 Reviews
Gtech 1-04-032 HT20 Hedge Trimmer
  • Gtech cordless Hedge trimmer HT20

Summary

We really did put the Gtech hedge trimmer through its paces with this review and we are happy to report it performed exceptionally. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone looking for a cordless hedge trimmer for their home. Obviously, this hedge trimmer from Gtech has been designed for the domestic market. If you have a business and use hedge trimmers, a petrol powered one may be of more use so that you aren’t delayed by charging the batteries.

The Gtech 2 year warranty gives you piece of mind that the product will last and that you can depend on it for years to come.

Check out our video below where you can see me unboxing the Gtech HT20, going over its features and showing it in action.

If you liked this review, maybe you would like to take a look at one of our others, try our Bosch PSB 1800 review.

  • Performance
  • Features
  • Ergonomics
  • Value
4.1

Last update on 2019-05-23 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

About Tools Review 101 Articles
Bringing you buyers guides and informational content on everything Tool, DIY, home improvement and garden related.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.